Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Here you will find help for frequently asked questions as well as for your specific question.
Post Reply
smackie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-08-13 07:25

Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Post by smackie »

Hi all, been having a problem with connecting to the VNC server built into OSX ever since upgrading to Lion from Windows based VNC clients including UltraVNC. I can establish a connection and the new multi user login screen shows up:

Image

but before I can enter any details into the boxes the screen will freeze and become unresponsive to further keyboard input. Sometimes I can quickly type a few letters in, but italways freezes before I can finish typing and log in.
I have tried using different encodings (e.g. ZRLE, Hextile, etc) as well as using Full/Max colors as suggested on other forums, but nothing works.
I have read that some VNC clients (those on the iPad) have been updated so that you can login with the Mac's username and password instead of the VNC password, but none of the Windows VNC clients seems to be able to do this.
Anyone else have any ideas? Is UltraVNC going to be updated to fix this problem?
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Post by B »

I love how Apple breaks their (already rather poor) built in VNC functionality, and it's up to everyone else to try to get it working again. Yeah, I would guess the various VNC developers will get around to dealing with Apple's self-inflicted wounds eventually. (It is not an accident that Apple would purposely cripple non-Apple remote control solutions.)

See also https://forum.ultravnc.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=28615
DrLex
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-08-16 12:04

Re: Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Post by DrLex »

Yes, the built-in VNC in OS X is not only crippled in its compression methods but in Lion it is more broken than ever.
Sometimes (about once every dozen times) after clicking my user name I get a few seconds where keyboard input works, enough to type my password if I'm really fast. Once the password has been correctly entered everything works. So if you really need to connect and you have a lot of patience, it is possible.
smackie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-08-13 07:25

Re: Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Post by smackie »

Yes that's my experience too.
Installed 10.7.1 but no change in VNC behaviour
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Post by B »

Perhaps one could script a workaround with AutoHotKey or something to automatically respond to those fleeting password prompts. (Or just wait for the promised VINES upgrade for Lion compatibility and disable the crappy OSX server.)
smackie
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-08-13 07:25

Re: Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Post by smackie »

Okay well I have abandoned Lions inbuilt VNC server and am using VINE VNC server instead
http://www.testplant.com/support/downloads/vine/
Works well for me, VNC in from a PC just fine
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Post by B »

Great news! Thanks for the update, smackie. (though it's currently labeled "beta")
B
Super-Mod
Super-Mod
Posts: 2347
Joined: 2009-09-09 14:05

Re: Connecting to OSX Lion in built VNC

Post by B »

I can't swear to it, but it looks as if x11vnc is now supporting Lion as of versions 0.9.13 and 0.9.14.

http://www.karlrunge.com/x11vnc/
Post Reply