Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post Reply
diezwei
8
8
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008-06-19 07:26

Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post by diezwei »

Hi there,
we have many VNC installations here and they all have the same configuration. We use version 1.3.2a for server and viewer in the direct connection. All computers have Windows 10 1909.
VNC is installed as a service in the standard configuration. On approx. 3 clients there is only a black or gray screen after a click to accept the connection. Sometimes the connection is lost and reconnected, but no screen appears.
On the problem PC I am testing the new version 1.3.4.2, but the problem is the same.
The computer with the VNC service has two displays.
What can I do to make the screen appear? Is the problem known? I didn't find anything in the release notes or in the forum.
Thanks for the help.

Ralf Reich
WoodyWoody
Posts: 7
Joined: 2021-10-22 16:27

Re: Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post by WoodyWoody »

I actually make a post about this in the 1.3.4.2 version.

https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37425

Try the dev version it fixed the issue for us:
https://forum.uvnc.com/viewtopic.php?t=37475


I can't wait for the official release.
diezwei
8
8
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008-06-19 07:26

Re: Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post by diezwei »

Thanks for answer. I test the dev version....
alazif66
Posts: 2
Joined: 2021-11-08 21:48

Re: Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post by alazif66 »

On Dev 1.3.5.0 same problem


Laptop has an external monitor connected, if the user clicks an some application (eg. word , chrome etc.) on the externale monitor screen at the moment when connect to UltarVNC server, the connection is black screen, if during the connection he clicks on the laptop screen, everything is ok.
Last edited by alazif66 on 2021-11-24 12:29, edited 1 time in total.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
Posts: 6414
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21
Contact:

Re: Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post by Rudi De Vos »

1) First make sure it isn't a network issue.
If you run the viewer on the same pc and connect to localhost, do you also have a black screen.
2) properties server
[v] ddengine uncheck
DDengine require latest video card and drivers. Possible not supported.
Uncheck to test if this is causing it.

If not running as service.
Suppose you start the vncserver in a rdp session and then minimize or close the RDP session, the rdp video buffer is disabled and vnc is cloning it -> black screen.
diezwei
8
8
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008-06-19 07:26

Re: Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post by diezwei »

My test with verison 1.3.50 was ok, the viewer shows the display.
I wait for the final version to deploy on all clients.
alazif66
Posts: 2
Joined: 2021-11-08 21:48

Re: Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post by alazif66 »

Rudi De Vos wrote: 2021-11-25 20:53 1) First make sure it isn't a network issue.
If you run the viewer on the same pc and connect to localhost, do you also have a black screen.
2) properties server
[v] ddengine uncheck
DDengine require latest video card and drivers. Possible not supported.
Uncheck to test if this is causing it.

If not running as service.
Suppose you start the vncserver in a rdp session and then minimize or close the RDP session, the rdp video buffer is disabled and vnc is cloning it -> black screen.
if ddengine is turned off, the connection works fine, however, when switching to the second screen, two screens appear, but you cannot go to the second screen.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
Posts: 6414
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21
Contact:

Re: Black or gray screen in the viewer

Post by Rudi De Vos »

Thats by design, sorry
With the ddengine we can capture each screen sepereate, with a blit you always capture the fullscreen.
Blit -> Prim-All
DDengine= Prim-Sec_third-All

ddengine depend on the video driver, possible there exist a newer driver for your video card that support it. ( normal wddm 1.2)
Post Reply