1.3.7 dev-1

Post Reply
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
Posts: 6531
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21
Contact:

1.3.7 dev-1

Post by Rudi De Vos »

To many changes with the lib updates, it doesn't feel correct to release this.
Changed to 1.3.7 dev-1
File version updates still need to be done.

1.3.7 dev-1
-Fix border
-xz library update 5.2.5
-update libjpeg-turbo 2.1.2
-update SDK
-Fix loading options, InfoMsg as commandline (-config configfile -InfoMsg " some test")
+updates zipunzip 6.0 (impact FileTransfer)

Zip also contain ipv6 builds

https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1371/UltraVnc_1371.zip
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1371/Ultra ... _Setup.exe
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1371/Ultra ... _Setup.exe

MSI
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1371/UltraVnc_1361_X64.msi
https://www.uvnc.eu/download/1371/UltraVnc_1361_x86.msi
alazif66
8
8
Posts: 10
Joined: 2021-11-08 21:48

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by alazif66 »

red frame work ok
InfoMsg - not display or or I don't know where the notification should be displayed - in the bottom right corner of the screen?
vncviewer.exe -noauto -config options.vnc -InfoMsg "Admin Connected" -disablesponsor -nostatus -normalcursor -password 12345678 ipserver::5900



ultravnc.ini
Frame=1
Notification=1
NotificationSelection=1
SkyBeam
40
40
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by SkyBeam »

Rudi De Vos wrote: 2021-12-25 20:46 1.3.6.1
-Fix border
-Fix loading options, InfoMsg as commandline (-config configfile -InfoMsg " some test")
A quick test did work pretty fine for me:
  • No visible window for the border frame
  • InfoMsg taken from options file specified with "-config" path
  • Command-line option "-InfoMsg" working as expected
  • Command-line taking precedence over options.vnc
alazif66
8
8
Posts: 10
Joined: 2021-11-08 21:48

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by alazif66 »

SkyBeam wrote: 2021-12-27 15:48
Rudi De Vos wrote: 2021-12-25 20:46 1.3.6.1
-Fix border
-Fix loading options, InfoMsg as commandline (-config configfile -InfoMsg " some test")
A quick test did work pretty fine for me:
  • No visible window for the border frame
  • InfoMsg taken from options file specified with "-config" path
  • Command-line option "-InfoMsg" working as expected
  • Command-line taking precedence over options.vnc

Could he show me a screenshot of the InfoMsg window, where is it and what does it look like?
alazif66
8
8
Posts: 10
Joined: 2021-11-08 21:48

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by alazif66 »

ok InfoMsg it works, in query window i thought it created an extra popup.
SkyBeam
40
40
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by SkyBeam »

alazif66 wrote: 2021-12-28 10:57 ok InfoMsg it works, in query window i thought it created an extra popup.
Info Mesage is a system notification and will use the notification functionality of the operating system to leave an informational message.
However you can also go to UVNC admin properties and enable the Query Window, either with or without timeout. The query Window will also display the InfoMsg text appended to the query text you enter in the server configuration. This will allow you to leave a generic message in the query window like "Do you want to accept an incoming remote control request?" and then set InfoMsg to "Your supporter James will assist you.".
So the user will see a query on incoming connection which will look as follows:

"Do you want to accept an incoming remote control request?
Your supporter James will assist you."

@rudi: I just noticed in this regards that the text is cut off in the query window if it is too long. It's properly line-wrapped but the window size is not adjusted and therefore might cut off the text.
alazif66
8
8
Posts: 10
Joined: 2021-11-08 21:48

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by alazif66 »

SkyBeam wrote: 2021-12-28 11:26
alazif66 wrote: 2021-12-28 10:57 ok InfoMsg it works, in query window i thought it created an extra popup.
Info Mesage is a system notification and will use the notification functionality of the operating system to leave an informational message.
However you can also go to UVNC admin properties and enable the Query Window, either with or without timeout. The query Window will also display the InfoMsg text appended to the query text you enter in the server configuration. This will allow you to leave a generic message in the query window like "Do you want to accept an incoming remote control request?" and then set InfoMsg to "Your supporter James will assist you.".
So the user will see a query on incoming connection which will look as follows:

"Do you want to accept an incoming remote control request?
Your supporter James will assist you."

@rudi: I just noticed in this regards that the text is cut off in the query window if it is too long. It's properly line-wrapped but the window size is not adjusted and therefore might cut off the text.
I can see the message only in the window waiting for the acceptance or rejection of the connection, there are no additional windows only with the message
SkyBeam
40
40
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by SkyBeam »

alazif66 wrote: 2021-12-28 11:51 I can see the message only in the window waiting for the acceptance or rejection of the connection, there are no additional windows only with the message
  • Make sure you have the latest version installed
  • Right-click the tray icon, select admin properties
  • Click "Advanced options"
  • Enable notification on connect, either always or only if client message is provided
  • Ensure you did not suppress Windows notifications
You might have muted windows notifications. On Windows 10 right-click the speech bubble next to the clock on your taskbar and disable focus assist if you enabled it. On Windows 11 click on the speaker icon to the left of the clock and and make sure it's not set to use the notification assistant or configure it properly - see "right click on clock area > notification settings". Also assure in this menu that you did not disable notification permissions for "VNC server". So if notifications are allowed you should see a quick-info popping up on the lower right on connect. The Quick-Info shall contain a message in the format:

"Connection from: <IP|ID>
<InfoMsg> text"
Notification Source: "VNC server"

The quick-info is supposed to disappear after a few seconds. The message will still be "archived" in the notification area if you click the icon on lower right of your taskbar.
Note: In case you have the notification assistent enabled or notifications suppresse by default you will not see the notification pop-up/quick-info on connect, but you will still see the notification info in your notification if you open the notification bar (lower right hand icon on your task bar).
alazif66
8
8
Posts: 10
Joined: 2021-11-08 21:48

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by alazif66 »

SkyBeam wrote: 2021-12-28 12:33
alazif66 wrote: 2021-12-28 11:51 I can see the message only in the window waiting for the acceptance or rejection of the connection, there are no additional windows only with the message
  • Make sure you have the latest version installed
  • Right-click the tray icon, select admin properties
  • Click "Advanced options"
  • Enable notification on connect, either always or only if client message is provided
  • Ensure you did not suppress Windows notifications
You might have muted windows notifications. On Windows 10 right-click the speech bubble next to the clock on your taskbar and disable focus assist if you enabled it. On Windows 11 click on the speaker icon to the left of the clock and and make sure it's not set to use the notification assistant or configure it properly - see "right click on clock area > notification settings". Also assure in this menu that you did not disable notification permissions for "VNC server". So if notifications are allowed you should see a quick-info popping up on the lower right on connect. The Quick-Info shall contain a message in the format:

"Connection from: <IP|ID>
<InfoMsg> text"
Notification Source: "VNC server"

The quick-info is supposed to disappear after a few seconds. The message will still be "archived" in the notification area if you click the icon on lower right of your taskbar.
Note: In case you have the notification assistent enabled or notifications suppresse by default you will not see the notification pop-up/quick-info on connect, but you will still see the notification info in your notification if you open the notification bar (lower right hand icon on your task bar).
Thanks!!! work perfect ! notifications were disabled
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
Posts: 6531
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21
Contact:

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by Rudi De Vos »

On request the same message will also be displayed as OSD in the same frame that show the semi transparent border.
Only visible on the server.
What do you think, can this be the default behavior ? center top / top right ?

Accept/Reject message box needs a new layout, still looks l XP.
Then we can also take in account the InfoMsg size.
SkyBeam
40
40
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by SkyBeam »

Rudi De Vos wrote: 2021-12-28 15:12 On request the same message will also be displayed as OSD in the same frame that show the semi transparent border.
Only visible on the server.
What do you think, can this be the default behavior ? center top / top right ?
I think it's a good idea, but some people might want to hide it as a longer message might be distracting or even hiding some elements when pair-working. So perhaps options need another flag whether or not to display permanently the info message. Perhaps an integer value like FrameMessage with values of 0=hidden, 1=top-left, 2=top-right, 3=bottom-left, 4=bottom-right might be an option and displaying a drop-down selection box in admin preferences to select hidden, top left, top right, bottom left or bottom right options. Unfortunately I can imagine users asking then to change the font, size, color or even transparency levels and other styling changes later. So worst case is people looking for some CSS-like styling flexibility.

I am personally not looking for this as I think a red border is sufficient to indicate the machine is under remote control. But I understand that there might be use-cases for it.
VNCHELP890
20
20
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-01-18 16:46

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by VNCHELP890 »

Just wondering what version to install.

It looks like 1.3.6.0 had some issues, but so does this 1.3.7 "dev-1" from what I read here.

Is there going to be a 1.3.7 "real" released soon?

Thank you.
VNCHELP890
20
20
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-01-18 16:46

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by VNCHELP890 »

also seeing this problem/bug:

Install not showing in start menu
viewtopic.php?t=37457


Is there any chance that this will be fixed in version 1.3.7 or maybe 1.3.8?

Thank you.
VNCHELP890
20
20
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-01-18 16:46

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by VNCHELP890 »

Is anyone here?

It has been a month since 1.3.7 dev-1, just wondering if anything coming out soon, maybe either 1.3.7 (not dev), or 1.3.8, or something like that.

Thank you.
SkyBeam
40
40
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by SkyBeam »

Rudi De Vos wrote: 2021-12-25 20:46 +updates zipunzip 6.0 (impact FileTransfer)
Actually I noticed that my vncviewer always crashes when transfering a directory (when a temporary ZIP is created). This issue still exists in versino 1.3.7 dev-3. I think it's likely related to the updated libraries.

Anybody able to reproduce this too?

Code: Select all

Faulting application name: vncviewer.exe, version: 1.3.7.1, time stamp: 0x620950a5
Faulting module name: vncviewer.exe, version: 1.3.7.1, time stamp: 0x620950a5
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000be344
Faulting process id: 0xfe8
Faulting application start time: 0x01d82124b2a6e0e6
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\UltraVNC\vncviewer.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\UltraVNC\vncviewer.exe
Report Id: d1d32e72-8945-41fd-b871-80386329b220
Faulting package full name: 
Faulting package-relative application ID: 
jiuweiljp
Posts: 1
Joined: 2022-02-14 12:57

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by jiuweiljp »

How to enter ipv6 address in vncviewer (ipv6 version).
thanks


I have tried many formats to no avail.

xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:0 is available in 1.2.5.1 RC1 viewtopic.php?p=108754&hilit=ipv6#p108754
Last edited by jiuweiljp on 2022-02-14 13:15, edited 4 times in total.
Rudi De Vos
Admin & Developer
Admin & Developer
Posts: 6531
Joined: 2004-04-23 10:21
Contact:

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by Rudi De Vos »

ok, gonna revert that update and create a new build. Then we can verify if the update brokes the zip
VNCHELP890
20
20
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-01-18 16:46

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by VNCHELP890 »

Too many different things happening here.

Looking at "dev-1" through "dev-5".

Can we consolidate a bit? Too many places to look. It might make it easier for you as the developer as well, if you can close up older versions/threads, and focus everybody on to a single development model.

Thank you.
SkyBeam
40
40
Posts: 119
Joined: 2012-12-31 11:01

Re: 1.3.7 dev-1

Post by SkyBeam »

VNCHELP890 wrote: 2022-02-23 00:26 Too many different things happening here.
This is entirely normal in software development. The breaking change which caused file transfer to be disrupted was introduced in 1.3.7 dev-1. So it's best reported here as it is related to this code tag. The latest dev-update mainly dealing with installer improvements. I think Rudi is able to find the issue faster if he knows where it was introduced.

That does not mean he will release an update based on dev-1. For sure the changes are done including all later changes. So as soon as the problem is identified I expect a new dev release based on latest code but fixing this issue introduced in dev-1 is going to be released. That's just how software development works.
Post Reply